Monday Memories: Camping in Ludington with Racoons

As the weather starts to turn a little cooler here, I am reminded of my many camping trips. I love to be out in the woods in late summer and early fall.  The days are warm, but the nights are made for camp fires, and drinking beer. My friends and I often went North to camp when I was a teenager(way back in the 1980’s).  North for us being anything further north than say, Big Rapids, Michigan.  Although, there is much discussion among Michiganders as to what really constitutes being North.  Many will argue, that you must cross the Bridge (The Mackinaw Bridge) in order to truly be North.  We weren’t picky as long as we were in the woods and we were north of our homes in Grand Rapids.

IMG_3599

Ok, this isn’t in Michigan (it’s here in Germany) and it isn’t from 1987.  But, it is a lake and being there does remind me of being in Michigan

On one such occasion, we headed to Val Du Lakes to see a concert( Back in the day, this was an amazing venue to see outdoor shows), and then planned to camp in Ludington State Park after the show.

We stopped by the campsite to set up the tent and get the site ready, then drove the 30 or so miles to Val Du Lakes for the show.  I actually can’t remember who we went to see, but we meet up with some other friends who also decided to stay in Ludington too.

By the time we made it back to camp, we were hammered drunk, as we often were after concerts.  Drinking beer in the sun tends to do that to you.  So, when we got back to the site, we were ready to crash.  We ended up with an extra person for our tent, as the rest of our friends were still partying and one of their people was all partied out.  It was a warm evening, so we made room by leaving the door to the tent unzipped and let our feet hang out.  That way we all fit without any problems, or so we thought.

I woke to the sounds of my tent mate talking to someone.  Slowly, my drunk brain realized she was saying, “Here kitty kitty.  Come here.” which seemed odd, we did not have a cat with us, obviously.  At first, I assumed she was talking in her sleep.  But she continued, and was speaking quite clearly, unlike someone sleep talking.

When I rolled over to find out what the hell she was going on about, I saw the biggest racoon I have ever seen sitting on her legs, eating Funyuns. (Funyuns are a snack food, like Doritos, or Frito’s, only they are shaped like onion rings and have an onion flavor.  Often eaten by drunk/high people and teenagers.)

Our extra guest had brought a bag of snack chips into the tent without me knowing, clearly not an experienced camper!  You never put food in your tent!  I may have freaked out a bit at that point.

I screamed, “Kelly, that is NOT a cat!!  Get it out, get it out of here!”  I quickly grabbed the opened bag of Funyuns and threw them out of the tent, only to see that the entire campsite was looking back at me with weird, glowing eyes.  There must have been 10 or more raccoons covering the site, waiting to get at the bag of Funyuns.  The giant racoon slowly made his way to the chip bag and grabbed it.

We all scrambled to get the spilled Funyuns out of the tent and zip of the door, a difficult task for three sleepy, drunks.

The last thing I saw before the tent was finally zipped, was the giant racoon, sitting on his haunches holding the bag of Funyuns, and eating them like he was watching a crazy movie, with all of his friends moving closer and closer to him, trying to get a few for themselves.

19 thoughts on “Monday Memories: Camping in Ludington with Racoons

  1. Being originally from Michigan (and my mom born in Germany:) I especially enjoyed this post. I’ve lived as far “south” as Big Rapids, when I attended Ferris, and as far “north” as the Keweenaw Peninsula. During my “Lower Peninsula” days I had the distinct pleasure of going to the beach in beautiful Ludington. My brother, his wife, and my mom also had an experience with raccoons while camping there one time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cherie that just made me laugh – they talk about Australia having dangerous wild animals, but I think the US comes pretty close with bears and giant racoons and other creatures – it made a great story though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This story is hilarious 🙂 but I’m glad it turned out ok – I would have a heart attack if a racoon appeared in my tent – the UK equivalent would be a fox
    This is why I only go glamping – we were in a cute shepherd’s hut in the hills of northern england last weekend.
    Lots love Bec x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So never having met an actual raccoon, or had to clean up after one, or deal with any destruction they have caused, I kinda like em. They look intelligent, I’d be thrilled about meeting one.

    Said in the naive spirit of someone who has only seen one on TV 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I was a child, I was riding in the car with my dad and we saw a mama raccoon had been killed in the road. There were babies at the side of the road. We stopped to get the babies. They tore my dad to bits, but he got them. We raised one at home and were able to release him back to the wild. The rest we brought to another person who did wildlife rehab.
      They can be very sweet animals when they have been with humans…..but they can be fierce beasts in the wild. Their little hands though, just love them.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My dad dropped me and my boyfriend and my sister off on a small island to camp for a weekend. I strung most of the food up in the air between two trees, in a locked cooler. My sister refused to do the same and took hers into her tent. I warned her lol…2 a.m. and she woke me up screaming…raccoons broke into her tent and were chowing down on her stash. We had to add her to our tent because she was scared to sleep alone. The coons ate just the centers out of every slice of her bread and even tried her frozen pirogi. They are great scavengers and so cute but a real problem for campers.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ha! So many raccoon camping stories out there. My family always remembers the time a band of crafty raccoons decided the best way to get our food was to knock our coolers down a hill in the middle of the night so they would open up. What a ruckus!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.