A Google Search, My Struggle to Learn German Continues…

I have been on the struggle bus for about a week.  The grey skies are not helping.  The cold rain that seems to come every, freaking day is not helping.  The cold wind, not helping.  The fact that I have to go back to German Class tomorrow, definitely NOT HELPING.  We have had a lovely break from class for the past few weeks, and sadly it has come to an end.

My German language skills are getting better.  I no longer feel immense panic whenever someone tries to speak to me in German.  Now it is more of a dread, but not a panic. I can follow simple conversations, but I have trouble adding anything of value to them. I have grown accustomed to my Mother in Law yelling at me in German.  She isn’t yelling because she is angry (I don’t think that is why anyway..)She is yelling because I do not speak German, and she thinks that if she speaks loudly I will magically find the ability to speak fluently in this language. (It doesn’t work, in case you were wondering.  I am not deaf, I just don’t speak German well.  It also causes quite the headache if subjected to these loud conversations for too long).  It may also explain why I drink so much wine when we visit Dirk’s parents.

I did a Google search today.  “How long does it take to learn the German language?” The answer I got was: It may take you between 8.3-10 years to reach an intermediate level.  WTF? I would like to have this printed on a sign of some sort, or a business card, or get a T-shirt with this information.  Something that I can easily pull out and hold up for those that are still giving me shit for not learning German in 6 months!  Yes, that is right, 6 months!!  I appreciate that my German family thinks that I am some kind of super genius that can learn at a very rapid rate.  But, the simple fact is that I am quite average, possibly even a bit on the slow side when it comes to learning.  I will get it, eventually…..maybe in approximately 8.3 to 10 years.  So, give me a break!

That being said, I will go back to my German books, and listen to my German CD’s and keep plugging along because I do love it here and I do want to be able to talk to people here.  I just need more time, as in, the rest of my life.  Maybe the Reissdorf Kölsch will help??

IMG_3041

 

53 thoughts on “A Google Search, My Struggle to Learn German Continues…

  1. Learning a language, any language, is hard. Hell, some people would say learning English is hard! I’ve taken to watching Pepper Pig in Turkish with the English subtitles. I still have no idea whats going on and whats worse all I seem to do is stare at Pepper Pig and drool. Seems wrong somehow to lust over a cartoon pig. God, I miss bacon!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I had a GREAT time on Girls Thursday. Such a great time that I spent the entire next day in bed. So I missed the parades and parties on Friday. But, I rallied for Saturday and Sunday. Although I was unable to tolerate any form of alcohol on those days. I finally had a gin and tonic more that a week after my excesses on Thursday. Germans are like Olympic champions at beer drinking, I am a weak American.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL. Move aside, I am of German/Irish stock LOL!!!!! Unfortunately I don’t speak any German and am of absolutely no use to you on that front 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Goodness. I don’t think it will take you as long as 8-20 years. As you are living there and immersing yourself in the language I am sure you’ll pick up loads faaar faster. But you are being too hard on yourself if you expect to be amazing *too* fast.

    Don’t give up! The sun will help make it all better.

    Also, I bet that wine helps you understand your mother-in-law a little better! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hear you. I studied German in school for 3 years, so I have a decent foundation, but I still am struggling with the language. Also, I get major stage fright and answer in English half the time. I’m sure you’ve heard this before, but just try all kinds of language learning methods until you find what works for you. I’ve used Duolingo, Mondly and Rosetta Stone and found that the methods in Rosetta Stone work best for me. Classes that teach rules and grammar work for me, but not ones where people mostly sit around and talk poorly. I don’t pick up much watching TV or films with subtitles, but some people swear they learned English that way. Basically, you’ll get it… but probably if you dread something, you’re not getting the most out of it. No harm in trying something else.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What?! 8 – 10 years! That’s encouraging, isn’t it. I’ve been taking private lessons for almost 2 years and still feel like I don’t know too much. Have you watched Easy German on YouTube? It is really helpful because they have English and German subtitles for all the videos. You’re doing awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol! My mum and dad were too. Born in Kenya to Indian parents, they were fluent in Punjabi English and Swahili. Pops even knew some of the dialects too!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, that is awesome. My Dad’s parents spoke French, German, English and some Spanish. My Mom and her family spoke English and some German. Yet, none of us grand kids were ever taught other languages until High School. Seems like such a loss.

        Like

  5. I think your Googled answer was probably talking about people who don’t live in Germany. You’ll get there much quicker. You’re a lot more motivated than most people are when they learn a language.

    You may already be aware of Deutsch Perfekt. It’s a monthly magazine for people learning German. I think it has audio now as well, which it didn’t when I was living in Germany. It has graded articles about German culture, German cities, German food etc. There are vocabulary lists related to the magazine’s theme. In Berlin I could buy it in almost any newsagent, but that might not be the case elsewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You’re doing brilliantly! The fact that you’re trying to learn at all is commendable. I think in 6 months, I probably would’ve just learnt how to say my name & state that I’m English. Good for you, for keeping at it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes….you need alcohol! Lots of it! I noticed someone mentioned Rosetta Stone above and my cousin swears by that as he travels internationally. I hope you aren’t too hard on yourself I mean look how long you’ve been speaking English! You’ll get there!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You will, for sure, learn the language quicker since you are immersed in the language everyday! But, cut yourself some slack, learning a language is HARD! I took French for 6 years and all I know how to say is “put your head in the toilet and flush three times”! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cherie, like many, has already said, you will pick it up sooner. I have had conversations with people in their own language and not mine. I seem to have developed a nack when to nod my head and smile 🙂 They go off happy, and I think I have understood a tiny bit, it sort of made sense 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hang in there and it will happen–really! After living in Asia for 15 years, I’ve relocated to Colombia and at the ripe age of 64 I’m trying to learn Spanish for the first time. Not easy at all as you say! You have lots going for you such as having a German partner, friends and family. Use all these resources to your advantage and enjoy your life in an amazing country!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.